Valpo Or Bust

21/03/2010

(Not) Too Cool for School

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christian @ 23:08

So I guess once a week more or less is a good blog frequency, no?  I knew the second I signed up for this thing that my entries would be sporadic and few-and-far-in-between… Sorry about that, guys.  I haven’t had a blog in a long time (oh, the days of xanga), and I feel that some people let their blog take control of their lives, rather than vice versa.  There’s just so much living going on down here that it’s hard to churn out these posts with any frequency.  Meh.

This past week was my first week of classes, which amazes me ceaselessly because my compatriots back home at Messiah are already finishing up their Spring Break.  It seems that the semester here will be considerably shorter here anyway – classes only run from March 17th through July 3rd, but on the other hand, the class periods themselves are longer than most Messiah classes (every class period here in invariably 1.5 hours; in turn, Messiah’s class periods this semester are either an hour or an hour and twenty long, if I’m not mistaken).  Maybe that’s a falsehood – I haven’t done the math, that’s just the way it seems to me at any rate.

As I touched on in my last post, the whole class selection process here would make any college in the United States self-destruct.  I learned this past Thursday that even though I formally signed for classes last Friday, that day (which went surprisingly smoothly) was essentially an exercise in pointlessness – I can, in fact, add or drop any class I desire by simply attending (or not attending) said class.  In about two weeks or so, after I’ve created my final class list through this trial-and-error method, I will turn this final list in to my study abroad organization.  It is only then that I will truly be enrolled, once and for all, in any given class.

Unique, huh?

Fortunately, this informal Chilean method of class selection has already worked in my favor.  I’ve already had to drop two of the initial six classes that appeared in my original schedule:

Hispanic America, Mon/Thu 10:05-11:35

Modern History of Chile, Tue/Thu, 11:45-1:15

Art and Society in Prehispanic Chile, Wed, 11:45-1:15

Grammar for Foreigners 3, Mon/Wed, 3:40-5:10

History of Latin America in the Twentieth Century, Thu, 5:20-6:50

Translation/Informed Interpretation Workshop, Mon, 5:20-6:50/Fri, 11:45-1:15

Why did I drop the classes that have been crossed out?

The only hour and a half I will ever spend in Hispanic America, a class with Chileans (as opposed to a class exclusively with foreigners), almost made my mind explode.  This much is unfortunate, too, because the first ten minutes I spend in the class were very enjoyable.  The teacher, a younger woman maybe seven or eight years my senior, was extremely amiable.  I could understand her clearly, and even her suggestion that I introduce myself was a success (I made all the Chileans laugh by calling myself a gringo, a vaguely derogatory word for English-speaking Westerners that is much more friendly in Chile than elsewhere in Latin America).

Then class began.

The teacher immediately launched into a four-hundred word a minute monologue about something that I didn’t really understand.  It wasn’t necessarily a Spanish failure, I don’t think, but more a history one – what I didn’t know before entering the class was that Hispanic America was a class created by history majors for history majors.  Third year history majors.  I also didn’t know that it was part of a continuing series of classes, but I found this out quickly because every thirty seconds the prof asked us if we remembered information from previous classes.  I didn’t.

It was at that point that I decided that achieving a passing grade in the class would likely be more difficult than dividing by zero.  I decided to drop it like it’s hot.

The other class I decided to leave – the Translation Workshop – was throughly enjoyable the whole way through.  Unfortunately, while abroad, I have very specific criteria I have to adhere to for my abroad class to count for credit back home.  History, Literature, Politics and Linguistics are all safe.  Unfortunately, this class – a workshop designed to show us how to us Windows Paint to paint over Spanish words and insert English words – definitely would not have been a worthy Spanish major course, so I dropped it as well.

So what’s left?

Modern History of Chile is exactly what it sounds like.  We didn’t get too deep into anything on the first day, but it seems like it could be pretty good.  The professor is a nice guy, although he’s occasionally hard to understand because he suffers from the standard Chilean accent – ignoring half of every word he says and combining many words into one long stream of consciousness.  Still, it’s their native language, so I guess I won’t criticize…Slowly but surely getting an ear for it.

Art and Society in Prehispanic Chile is boring.  And also exactly what is sounds like.

Grammar for Foreigners 3 makes my life better.  It’s a small class (only 10 or so of us), which is a perfect size.  The professor is the man and a half – he’s very open and unintimidating, and says that about of the class time will be material he has planned, but the other half will come from our suggestions and difficulties.    Big win.

History of Latin America in the Twentieth Century could be my favorite history class ever.  It’s kind-of co-taught by two teachers who are both very cool guys, and very charismatic.  Again, I’ve only had this class once, and we didn’t get too deep into anything, but it should be good.

Unfortunately, after dropping those two classes, I’m one credit short of what I need for my study abroad requirements.  So I’ll probably end up finding another class to take – probably a class about the history of Valparaíso – but I’m not exactly sure yet.

I’ll be sure to let you all know how it shapes up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

