Valpo Or Bust

19/02/2010

Thumbprints and Packing

Filed under: Uncategorized — Christian @ 17:03

My philosophy about packing: slow and steady wins the race.

Ehh, that’s what the weekend’s for anyways, right?  No need to strain myself.

Anyways, after a trip to the consulate yesterday, I finally (!!!!!) have my Chilean visa and can breathe a big sigh of relief.  It surely was a process, though – I got down to the consulate in Philly with time to spare, but drove around the building about fifteen times before settling on a place to park.  Fortunately, we located the correct entrance on the first try (there are several “main” entrances to the Public Ledger Building), and made it all the way up to the Consulate on the tenth floor.

Once there, however, a series of failures ensued.  You see, they printed out this long sheet of paper with all of my information on it for me to sign and stamp my fingerprint on to make it official.  The lady processing me printed out the first sheet, which I signed successfully (no small feat, as I had to write my middle name, “Douglas”, in cursive, something I had not done since the end of the Eisenhower administration).  Filled with confidence by my successful signature, I dived right in and applied my thumbprint, which ended up being less of a thumbprint and more of an indeterminate black blotch that appeared to be the outcome of a massive pen explosion.

Failure.

So she printed this sheet out again (assuring me that “this kinda thing happens sometimes”), and had me sign it and thumbprint it.  Success!

I had barely returned to the lobby, though, when she called me back in to show me the paper – all I had contributed was fine, but somehow the sheet had been misprinted, and my parents had become Randall Mishigishack and Patricia Khazinbooger.

Failure redux.

So, the woman printed out yet another sheet, and this time all went well, she gave me my visa, and I went on my merry way.

With all of that taken care of, then, there’s not really much left to do –  I need to pack, obviously, which is perhaps a task I’m underestimating, but that’s really about it.  I’m still getting used to the idea that in a week’s time, I will have arrived in Santiago just a few short hours ago.  Chile, here I come!

1 Comment »

  1. OK. Your parents new names made me laugh. Hard. Hee hee.

    Comment by Aunt Jen — 01/03/2010 @ 01:34


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

